Suspended License and Invalid License Charges Require Mandatory Jail in Georgia
People charged with driving without a license or driving while their privileges to drive have been suspended are facing mandatory minimum sentences. Georgia law requires a sentence of 2 days in jail and a $500 fine for a first offense. The only way to avoid those minimums is for the judge to suspend those requirements, or for the prosecutor to amend the charges to something without mandatory minimums.
The best thing a person can do in this situation is to try to get the license issues cleared up before court. If the license is suspended for failure to pay a traffic ticket, go ahead and contact that court and get that ticket paid. As soon as you do that, the clerk of that court will give you a release to take to Georgia Department of Driver Services to get the license reinstated. You will have to pay a reinstatement fee. If you are suspended for a conviction that carried a suspension as a matter of law (like DUI, under 21 speeding or reckless, Eluding, Hit & Run, No Insurance, etc.,) it may require more work to get the license back, including, but not limited to, paying child support, taking DUI school and/or substance abuse treatment, getting SR22 insurance, etc.
If you have been charged with one of these offenses for a second time in 5 years, you will be facing a minimum of 10 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. The third offense in 5 years is considered a High and Aggravated Misdemeanor and you could be facing substantial jail time and up to $2,500 in fines. The fourth lifetime offense could be prosecuted as a felony.
If you are facing one of these charges you should consult with an attorney before you go to court. We have represented thousands of clients charged with these offenses. Call today for a consultation.